Affiliate Disclosure CSH may earn commission from links on this site at no cost to you. This never influences our coverage. Read our policy →
Independent software coverage for contractors · No vendor influence
Reader-supported
Currently reading · AutoCAD LT Review
RECOMMENDED · CAD & Design · Contractors with CAD experience producing and revising precise 2D drawings
Visit AutoCAD LT → No affiliate link · disclosure →
DISCLOSURE This is an independent editorial review. Contractor Software Hub receives no commission if you visit or buy this product.
Review CAD & Design General ContractingElectricalHVAC

AutoCAD LT Review: Is It Enough for Contractor Drawing Work?

AutoCAD LT suits contractors producing precise 2D drawings. Compare seat costs, field workflows and cancellation terms, checked October 2026.

Recommended
Research updated
Oct 2026
AutoCAD LT review illustration
At a glance Checked Oct 16, 2026

AutoCAD LT is a recommended fit for contractors with CAD experience who regularly produce or revise precise 2D drawings. Businesses needing 3D modeling, BIM deliverables or scheduling and invoicing should look elsewhere because LT focuses on drafting and documentation.

Starting price
$45 per user/month, billed annually at $540
5-person team
$2,700/year for five drafting users, or $350/month billed monthly
Free trial
15-day AutoCAD LT trial; card requirement not stated
QuickBooks Online
No connection listed in Autodesk's LT product pages
Best for
Contractors with CAD experience producing and revising precise 2D drawings
Skip it if
You need 3D modeling, BIM deliverables or scheduling and invoicing
Watch out for
Changed cloud-sharing workflows and conflicting post-expiration access terms
Buyer Confidence Score
8.5/10

High confidence: nearly everything can be checked before paying.

  • What customers say 2.5 of 3
    Apple App Store 4.4 from 6,266 ratings; Capterra 4.6 from 226 reviews; G2 4.3 from 287 reviews; weighted by number of reviews: 4.4. No billing, data-loss or cancellation complaints in the reviews read.
  • Prices you can see 2 of 2
    The single LT product is publicly priced at $70 monthly or $540 annually; there is no custom tier.
  • Does the vendor's information agree? 1 of 1.5
    1 conflict that affects plan choice or cost: Post-expiration access: the terms end rights at expiration; the cancellation guide gives 15 days of full access in the Expired stage.
  • Can you try it first? 1 of 1.5
    A 15-day trial is published, but no source says whether a card is required, so it is scored as a card trial provisionally.
  • Can you leave easily? 1.5 of 1.5
    Monthly billing is available, and auto-renew can be turned off or cancelled at renewal in the Autodesk account.
  • Can you find answers? 0.5 of 0.5
    The public help center and account guides explain the release changes, renewal and refunds.

The score measures how much a buyer can check before committing to AutoCAD LT, not how well the software performs. We research products; we do not test them. How the score works.

The body of the review

AutoCAD LT is a recommended fit for contractors with CAD experience who regularly produce or revise precise 2D drawings. Autodesk’s product overview describes DWG drafting, annotation and AutoLISP automation, making LT a sensible choice for a shop that needs control over construction details and drawing revisions.

Businesses needing 3D modeling, BIM deliverables or scheduling and invoicing should look elsewhere. Autodesk’s buying page positions LT around 2D documentation, directs 3D work toward full AutoCAD, and describes Revit LT as the BIM component of a separate suite. A contractor shopping primarily for job-management software should choose a product built around that workflow.

This review draws on Autodesk’s published pricing, product pages, help documentation and terms, and on individual customer reviews. Prices, plan features and terms were checked on October 16, 2026.

Which subscription makes sense?

Autodesk publishes one standalone LT product with monthly and annual billing. Its buying page lists the prices below, while the subscription explanation on its Flex page says each subscription is assigned to a specific user.

PlanMonthly billingAnnual billingIncluded usersGate that matters
AutoCAD LT$70 per user/month$540 per user/year, equivalent to $45/monthOne assigned user2D drafting, AutoLISP, web and mobile access; excludes full AutoCAD’s 3D functionality and specialized toolsets

The $45 monthly equivalent requires annual billing. Autodesk’s buying page describes these as suggested retail prices excluding taxes and other listed charges, with actual prices subject to change. An owner should approve the annual amount, not just the smaller monthly equivalent.

For a hypothetical drafter needing uninterrupted access, annual billing becomes cheaper during the eighth month: eight monthly payments total $560 against $540 annually, calculated from Autodesk’s published prices. Monthly billing suits a shorter, defined drafting assignment because it limits the initial commitment. Annual billing suits established year-round use because its total is lower.

Count drafting users separately from total employees. Autodesk’s buying page permits installation on different computers but active use on only one computer at a time; its general terms prohibit sharing user IDs and passwords except with authorized account administrators. A laptop and office workstation can serve the same subscriber, while several employees need properly assigned access. The general terms allow Autodesk to audit use and require purchases covering any noncompliance plus its audit costs. Autodesk’s Flex page says a subscription can be reassigned as often as needed, so people who draft at different times may be able to share one assigned subscription by reassigning it; simultaneous drafters each need their own.

Where does the drafting workflow stop?

Autodesk’s overview describes comparing drawings, counting objects, creating tables and customizing routines. For a contractor revising layouts or preparing as-built drawings, these tools support detailed drawing work. The buyer still needs someone who understands layers, dimensions and drawing standards.

Three capabilities deserve a practical evaluation:

  • Geometry cleanup: Autodesk’s overview says the tool identifies gaps, overshoots, undershoots and misaligned angles, then suggests fixes. Evaluate it against a representative drawing with known errors.
  • Repeatable automation: The overview lists AutoLISP support for LSP, FAS and VLX files. Autodesk’s AutoLISP introduction explains that routines can access commands, modify drawing objects and prompt for input, and refers readers to the AutoLISP Developer’s Guide for known limitations in AutoCAD LT.
  • AI assistance: Autodesk’s overview labels Autodesk Assistant a tech preview. Treat it as a feature to evaluate; base the purchase on drafting functions that already meet the shop’s requirements.

The boundary is explicit. Autodesk’s buying page says LT excludes the seven specialized toolsets, development tools and third-party connections offered beyond its scope. A firm dependent on a particular plug-in or custom application should obtain compatibility confirmation before replacing existing licenses.

For recurring 3D or BIM deliverables, choose software that directly supports those outputs. Autodesk’s buying page identifies full AutoCAD for 3D functionality and describes AutoCAD Revit LT Suite as combining LT with Revit LT’s architectural BIM tools. The suite needs its own price and workflow assessment.

Can drawings move reliably into the field?

Autodesk’s AutoCAD Web overview says LT subscriptions include the web and mobile apps. It describes light editing, fundamental designs, markups and mobile offline work with later synchronization. That scope suits field review, subject to confirming the commands and file-handling steps the crew actually needs.

However, an existing desktop-to-field process may need revision. Autodesk’s 2027 changes guide documents three consequential changes:

  • Old transfer commands removed: Open From Web & Mobile and Save To Web & Mobile have been removed. Autodesk recommends Forma Data Management for storing and accessing drawings.
  • Shared Views removed: Autodesk recommends Forma Data Management for sharing drawings with others.
  • Publishing destination changed: Push to Autodesk Docs becomes Push to Forma Data Management.

These changes concern the desktop workflow; Autodesk continues to include web and mobile access in the LT subscription. An established user should demonstrate the entire handoff before upgrading: open the office drawing, review it in the field, record changes and return the correct file to the office.

Autodesk’s overview also ties Connected References and Connected Support Files to Forma Data Management projects. Confirm the required Forma entitlement, collaborator access and any additional cost before budgeting those features as part of the existing setup.

What integrations can a contractor expect?

For QuickBooks Online, Autodesk’s LT overview lists no connection and expressly says LT does not include third-party connections. A buyer needing drawing quantities to feed estimating, invoicing or accounting should request a demonstration of that exact transfer. The published drafting features provide no basis for budgeting an automated accounting workflow.

Cloud file access has clearer support. Autodesk’s AutoCAD Web page lists Autodesk Drive, Autodesk Docs, Microsoft OneDrive, Box, Dropbox and Google Drive as locations from which web or mobile users can open DWG files. It also describes local-drive or LAN access in the web app.

The practical question is which location holds the authoritative drawing. A contractor should evaluate permissions, external references and the return of offline edits using its intended storage provider. A supported storage connection establishes file access; the buyer still needs a workable revision-control process.

When do usage charges apply?

Autodesk’s Flex page describes subscriptions as allowing use as often as needed during the subscription term. Its LT example pairs an ordinary LT subscription with tokens for occasional access to full AutoCAD. Budget LT as a subscription, with Flex spending separately approved for work that needs additional software.

Autodesk publishes these Flex rules on its Flex page:

  • Full AutoCAD access: AutoCAD costs seven tokens per day, charged per product once every 24 hours. This published rate applies to full AutoCAD.
  • Open applications consume tokens: Autodesk tells users to close products to stop further token use. An application left open can carry usage into another chargeable period.
  • Expiration applies: Tokens must be used within one year of purchase and do not roll over.
  • An empty balance stops access: Users cannot open a Flex product when the team lacks sufficient tokens.
  • Token returns: Tokens can be returned up to 30 days after purchase, according to Autodesk’s Flex page.

Autodesk’s Flex page quotes 33 tokens for $99 in its Fusion example, about $21 for one seven-token AutoCAD day at that rate; it discounts purchases of 5,000 tokens or more.

Autodesk says on its Flex page that professionals tend to use 250 tokens per user per year when pairing LT with full AutoCAD; treat that as Autodesk’s figure, not a forecast for the shop.

This arrangement can suit a predominantly 2D shop with occasional specialist work. Obtain the applicable token purchase price and estimate actual chargeable days before choosing it. Autodesk’s suggested usage examples should remain separate from the contractor’s own workload forecast.

What do customers report?

AutoCAD LT has an overall rating of 4.6 from 226 reviews on Capterra and 4.3 from 287 reviews on G2. The separate AutoCAD mobile app has 4.39 from 6,266 Apple App Store ratings, displayed as 4.4 on its listing. That app rating concerns the mobile experience, not the LT desktop product alone.

The following individual accounts point to tasks worth testing before buying:

  • Detailed site drawings: On Capterra, Jack P., January 17, 2026, praised layers for managing complex site drawings, including isolating drainage information. He also reported confusion when line weights were controlled by inherited or layer-level settings.
  • Execution drawings and conversion: On G2, Sethurajan M., July 25, 2026, praised engineering drawings and straightforward setup, while reporting graphics slowdowns and wanting clearer PDF-to-CAD conversion.
  • Hardware pressure: On Capterra, Ken Y., June 17, 2026, said the software helped assess customer drawings but reported using an older version because newer releases demanded more computer performance. Autodesk’s buying page says a subscription covers the current version and three previous versions.
  • Successful everyday drafting: On G2, Shalena C., December 2, 2025, praised multilayer plant layouts and hotkeys, reported no lag in her work, and wanted toolbar layouts carried across upgrades.

These accounts support evaluating representative files on the intended workstation. A small sample drawing may reveal little about a complicated site plan with inherited settings and external references.

Mobile reports add a separate caution. On the App Store, a.neallyo, August 6, 2022, reported awkward keyboard input and freezes that required restarting the app; mauriceasso, March 3, 2022, praised annotations for communicating changes to the office. These older accounts suggest testing the current mobile interface with the actual keyboard, stylus and markup workflow before relying on it for site visits.

What raises the total bill?

Assuming five employees each need their own LT drafting access, the budget is $2,700 annually, equivalent to $225 per month, or $350 per month billed monthly. Those totals use Autodesk’s published LT prices and its specific-user subscription model, before taxes. A five-person business with one drafter should size access around actual roles and confirm the remaining employees’ viewing requirements.

Hardware, training and upgrade disruption also belong in the budget, although their costs depend on the business. The customer reports above justify evaluating large drawings on existing equipment before committing. An experienced drafter should also check office templates and routines before rolling LT out to less experienced staff.

Upgrade reversal can require downtime. Autodesk’s 2027 update notes say the update cannot be uninstalled separately; removing it requires uninstalling and reinstalling AutoCAD LT. Autodesk’s general terms also require prompt installation of mandatory updates. Schedule deployment away from drawing deadlines and retain independent backups of working files and settings.

What are the trial and exit terms?

Autodesk’s cancellation guide specifies a 15-day AutoCAD LT trial that expires automatically. The published information does not state whether a card is required, so confirm that during registration. The separate mobile app’s trial should not determine the desktop LT evaluation schedule.

Autodesk’s general terms restrict trials to non-commercial evaluation, generally by one individual or one named employee, unless applicable documentation or special terms say otherwise. Use copies of representative drawings for evaluation, with production work kept under an appropriate paid license.

Autodesk’s cancellation guide also refers to 3-year subscriptions; the buying page lists prices only for monthly and annual billing.

Renewals take Autodesk’s then-current terms.

Most newly purchased and renewed subscriptions automatically renew, according to Autodesk’s auto-renewal guide. Its cancellation guide distinguishes the following actions:

  • Stopping renewal: Turning off auto-renew or choosing cancellation at renewal leaves the subscription active through its current term. Outstanding payments under multiple bill plans remain due.
  • Requesting a refund: Eligible direct Autodesk or Cleverbridge purchases and renewals have a 15-day request window for monthly subscriptions and a 30-day window for annual subscriptions. Third-party sellers may set different policies. The policy excludes mid-term switches and Pay as You Go charges. Requests go through Autodesk Support via the Autodesk Assistant.
  • Restarting during shutoff: Renewal retains the original billing cycle and may charge for elapsed time without use. Subscriptions cannot be paused and resumed with a reset billing schedule. Renewal stays possible until the subscription reaches Canceled, 30 days after expiration for monthly and 45 days for annual; after that a new subscription must be purchased, according to Autodesk’s cancellation guide.

Buyer warning: Autodesk’s general terms say software and cloud-access rights end upon expiration, while its cancellation guide says full product access continues for a 15-day Expired stage. Budget paid coverage through the final working day and obtain written clarification before scheduling work during that period; the two pages give different instructions.

Data retention also needs planning. Autodesk’s general terms require independent backups. For some cloud services Autodesk may offer a brief retrieval period, for example 30 days, which can carry fees; otherwise it may delete content without notice after expiration or termination. The cancellation guide says cloud-storage access may be lost after 30 days, with timing varying by product. Export and verify necessary project files before the subscription ends.

Autodesk’s general terms require binding individual arbitration for US and Canadian customers and include a class-action waiver.

Should a contractor buy AutoCAD LT?

Choose LT when an experienced drafter needs precise, repeatable 2D documentation and can demonstrate the required file exchanges. The published tools and individual customer accounts support that focused role. Choose software with the required 3D, BIM or business-management workflow when those tasks drive the purchase.

Before committing, evaluate a representative drawing on the intended hardware, exercise existing AutoLISP routines, and complete a field-to-office revision cycle. Confirm any Forma costs and clarify post-expiration rights in writing. Annual billing then makes sense for established ongoing use; monthly billing keeps a shorter assignment’s commitment smaller.

Fine Print Check

Ask before you buy: where AutoCAD LT’s own pages disagree, checked October 2026.

AutoCAD LT’s own pages disagree in 1 place about price, plans, users or terms. This compares the vendor’s pages with each other as they read on the check date; the contract governs, so get each answer in writing before you sign.

Contract terms (1)
  • Product access immediately after subscription expiration. The terms page says: “Your rights with respect to that Offering, including any related Software license, Cloud Service access, and Benefits, will end.” The feature page says: “Expired Duration: 15 days. Full product access continues.” Ask: whether AutoCAD LT may legally remain in use for 15 days after subscription expiration, and get confirmation in writing.
Frequently asked5 questions
How much does AutoCAD LT cost?
AutoCAD LT costs $70 per user/month billed monthly, or $540 per user/year, equivalent to $45 per month. Five drafting users cost $2,700 annually or $350 per month on monthly subscriptions, before taxes.
Does AutoCAD LT include web and mobile access?
Autodesk includes web and mobile access with an LT subscription. The 2027 desktop release removes the old Open From Web & Mobile, Save To Web & Mobile and Shared Views features, so existing sharing workflows need evaluation.
Can AutoCAD LT do 3D modeling and automation?
LT focuses on 2D drafting and supports AutoLISP automation. Autodesk directs buyers needing 3D modeling and specialized toolsets to full AutoCAD, which can also be accessed separately through Flex tokens.
How long is the AutoCAD LT free trial?
Autodesk publishes a 15-day AutoCAD LT trial that expires automatically; the card requirement is not stated. Its general trial terms restrict use to non-commercial evaluation unless applicable documentation or special terms provide otherwise.
Can an AutoCAD LT subscription be refunded?
For eligible direct Autodesk or Cleverbridge purchases and renewals, refund requests must be made within 15 days for monthly subscriptions or 30 days for annual subscriptions. Turning off renewal is a separate action, and third-party sellers may have different return policies.
Also consider If AutoCAD LT isn't the fit
ProgeCAD
CAD & Design · Small Windows-based contractors and drafting shops producing DWG construction drawings.

progeCAD is a conditional fit for a small Windows-based contractor or drafting shop producing DWG construction drawings, especially with existing AutoCAD experience. Buy after testing client files and confirming the license and add-on scope, because the vendor's pages disagree on several purchase details.

Read review →
Chief Architect
CAD & Design · Residential remodelers, custom home builders, kitchen and bath designers, and design-build firms that regularly produce plans, elevations, 3D views, materials lists, and client presentations

A good fit for residential remodelers, custom home builders, and design-build firms that regularly produce plan sets, 3D visuals, and materials lists from the same model.

Read review →
Bluebeam Revu
Construction Management · GCs, subcontractors, estimators, and project teams that need PDF plan markup, measurement, overlays, quantity takeoffs, and document collaboration

A focused PDF markup, measurement, and collaboration platform for construction teams that need plan review and takeoff tools, not a full project management or accounting suite.

Read review →
The bottom line

AutoCAD LT is a recommended fit for contractors with CAD experience who regularly produce or revise precise 2D drawings. Businesses needing 3D modeling, BIM deliverables or scheduling and invoicing should look elsewhere because LT focuses on drafting and documentation.

No affiliate relationship · CSH earns nothing if you visit or buy